REVIEW – Maxfactor Liquid Effect Eyeliner


MaxFactor liquid effect eyeliner

Okie Dokie, here’s something I got quite excited about when I first saw it. Maxfactor’s Liquid Effect Eyeliner is a pencil eyeliner that promises the effect of liquid but it wasn’t this that I really wanted to try. It was the smudger end.

I’m not sure why I wanted to try this so badly. I wanted to see if Maxfactor could turn it around for me. They didn’t. I wish Maxfactor could release a single item that makeup artists would proudly use. So far cheaper brands like MUA and SLEEK are beating them silly. (Rant over)

The colour I picked is the lilac colour (loving my plums and purple for eyeliner lately) and the colour is a really beautiful soft lilac which I was pleased with. Using it though I wouldn’t describe the effect as liquid like. I would describe it as an easy glide eyeliner, no dragging, buildable colour but not as strong as liquid or as long-lasting. The smudger end was a bit of a dissapointment, I think the colour was too light for a smudger on this one as I tried it on the back of my hand it just erases it. On my eye it did smudge it but I don’t like the heavy friction on my eye. It also took a lot of the colour off (although if you read this before, I thought it was an eraser, god knows why, so I was TRYING to erase it!) Dragging this on such vulnerable skin is going to stretch it and that’s not good (unless you like the saggy, baggy look). I think for smudging I will stick to the Q-tip and use this as an eraser (its quite effective as one)

3/5 – Not really liquid effect but a nice eyeliner

tre-logomakeup-month

6 thoughts on “REVIEW – Maxfactor Liquid Effect Eyeliner

  1. I have one of these pencils. The tool at the other end, is a smudger, not an eraser!
    To smudge a harsh eyeliner line before it dries. You have to take this eyeliner off with normal make up remover.

    I’m enjoying your blog by the way!!

  2. I have a question, my pencil lasted for 2 weeks, I have the black one and I use it just once a day in the morning…but now, the end is tossed and I don’t know how to sharpen it…or to pull out the pencil from inside…I may be an idiot, but I just can’t do it! 🙂 any suggestions? 🙂

    Thanks!!

    • Hiya no your not an idiot, I was a bit stumped (literally) with it and thought “bugger it” and sharpened it with a cosmetic sharpener. It turned out ok a bit rounded at the top but it didn’t breakout or anything. Hope I helped!

Leave a Reply

